Who's Who

Councillors & Staff

The Town Mayor elected by the Council for the year 2017/2018 is Cllr Carl Powling and the Deputy Mayor is Cllr Paula Moore.









Mayor, Councillor Carl Powling.


The nine West Mersea Town Councillors are:-

Cllr Peter Banks

cllr.banks@westmersea.org

01206 381881
Cllr David Bragg

cllr.bragg@westmersea.org

01206 384285
Cllr Peter Clements MBE

cllr.clements@westmersea.org

01206 382435
Cllr Robert Jenkins

cllr.jenkins@westmersea.org

01206 384930
Cllr Paula Moore (Deputy)

cllr.moore@westmersea.org 

01206 386106
Cllr Carl Powling (Mayor)

cllr.powling@westmersea.org

01206 386965
Cllr Steph Shilton

cllr.shilton@westmersea.org 

01206 382128
Cllr Sylvia Wargent 

cllr.wargent@westmersea.org

01206 384285
Cllr Sophie Weaver

cllr.weaver@westmersea.org

01206 382900                          

DISCLOSABLE PERSONAL INTERESTS (click here)

Office Staff

West Mersea Town Clerk: Petra Palfreyman
Email: town.clerk@westmersea.org

Secretary to Town Clerk: Carol Fountain  
Email: info@westmersea.org
Tel: 01206 382128

The Town Council is non political - Councillors stand as Independents serving the interests of the people - not a political party. The role of Town Councillor is voluntary - they do not receive payment.

Committees & Working Groups

The Town Council operates a Committee system, each committee having special duties. Committees meet regularly and make recommendations to the full Council. Policy decisions are made by the full Council. Since 2009 committees have also included co-opted Mersea residents.

• Bradwell Monitoring Committee
• Local Community Action Panel (formerly NAP)
• Facilities and Assets Committee (formerly Environment)
• Sports & Recreation Committee
• Communications Committee
• Personnel Committee

There are also two joint West Mersea Town Council/Colchester Borough Council Committees:
• Transport
• Waterside Committee

COLCHESTER BOROUGH COUNCIL and ESSEX COUNTY COUNCIL representatives

Colchester Borough Ward Councillors
You can find details here
Website: colchester.cmis.uk.com/colchester/Councillors.aspx

Cllr John Jowers
Tel: 01206 382975
Email: john.jowers@colchester.gov.uk

Cllr Patricia Moore
Tel: 01206 385361
Email: cllr.patricia.moore@colchester.gov.uk

Cllr Robert Davidson
Tel: 01206 735665
Email: robert.davidson@colchester.gov.uk 

Essex County Councillor
Cllr John Jowers
Tel: 01206 382975 
Email: cllr.john.jowers@essexcc.gov.uk 

Member of Parliament
Bernard Jenkin MP
House of Commons
London SW1 OAA
Tel: 0207 219 4029
Email: bernard.jenkin.mp@parliament.uk
Website: bernardjenkinmp.com

East Mersea Parish Council
East Mersea Parish Council serves a rural community of some 110 residents.
Tel: 01206 735367 (Parish Clerk)
Email: eastmerseaparish@yahoo.co.uk 
Website: essexinfo.net/east-mersea-parish-council

Colchester Borough Council
Main Switchboard - Tel: 01206 282222 - opening hours 9am to 5pm.
Emergency out of hours - Tel: 01206 548444
Website: colchester.gov.uk