COUNCILLORS & STAFF

The Town Mayor elected by the Council for the year 2022/23 is Cllr Carl Powling and the Deputy Mayor is Cllr Robert (Bob) Jenkins.


Mayor, Councillor Carl Powling.


Deputy Mayor, Councillor Robert (Bob) Jenkins.

The Town Council is non political - Councillors stand as Independents serving the interests of the people - not a political party. The role of Town Councillor is voluntary - they do not receive payment.

Click here to view declared interests of all West Mersea Town Councillors.

The nine West Mersea Town Councillors are:-

Cllr John Akker MBE

cllr.akker@westmersea.org

01206 381780

Cllr Julie Baker

cllr.baker@westmersea.org 

01206 386978

Cllr David Bragg

cllr.bragg@westmersea.org

01206 384285

Cllr Samuel Jarvis

cllr.jarvis@westmersea.org

01206 383848

Cllr Robert Jenkins (Deputy)

cllr.jenkins@westmersea.org

01206 384930

Cllr Carl Powling (Mayor)

cllr.powling@westmersea.org

01206 386965

Cllr Sylvia Wargent

cllr.wargent@westmersea.org

01206 384285

Cllr Sophie Weaver

cllr.weaver@westmersea.org

01206 382900

Cllr Chris Wood

cllr.wood@westmersea.org

07917 547660


OFFICE STAFF

Town Clerk: Vanessa Allen
Email: town.clerk@westmersea.org
Monday to Friday, 9am to 5pm.

Cemetery Clerk/Assistant to Town Clerk: Carol Fountain 
Email: info@westmersea.org
Tel: 01206 382128
Monday to Friday, 8am to 4pm.

Office Assistant: Hayley Powling
Email: office@westmersea.org
Tel: 01206 382128
Monday, Tuesday and Friday, 9am to 12pm.

GROUND STAFF

West Mersea Town Council also employs two full time groundsmen who work to oversee and manage the land and property owned and used by the Council.

COMMITTEES

The Town Council operates a Committee system, each committee having special duties. Committees meet regularly and make recommendations to the full Council. Policy decisions are made by the full Council. 

Committee membership and Working Group membership was confirmed at a full Council meeting held on 19 May 2022.

Community Facilities Committee
Cllr Wood (Chair), Cllr Baker, Cllr Bragg, Cllr Jarvis
Environment & Community Services Committee
Cllr Weaver (Chair), Cllr Baker, Cllr Jenkins, Cllr Powling
Finance & Strategy Committee
Cllr Powling (Chair), Cllr Jenkins, Cllr Akker, Cllr Weaver, Cllr Wood
Personnel Committee
Cllr Akker (Chair), Cllr Baker, Cllr Bragg, Cllr Wood
Planning Committee
Cllr Akker (Chair), Cllr Baker, Cllr Bragg, Cllr Weaver, Cllr Wood

WORKING GROUPS

Bathing Rafts Working Group
Cllr Powling (Chair), Cllr Bragg, Cllr Jenkins
Boardwalk Working Group
Cllr Jarvis (Chair), Cllr Akker, Cllr Baker, Cllr Weaver, Cllr Wood
Bradwell Working Group
Cllr Akker (Chair), Cllr Baker, Cllr Weaver
Loft Working Group
Cllr Bragg, Cllr Wargent
Parking Working Group
Cllr Akker (Chair), Cllr Baker, Cllr Bragg, Cllr Weaver, Cllr Wood
Public Relations Working Group
Cllr Wood (Chair), Cllr Akker, Cllr Weaver.
Queen's Platinum Jubilee Working Group
Cllr Weaver (Chair), Cllr Baker, Cllr Powling
S.106 Working Group
All Councillors

Terms of Reference for Committees are on the Documents/Policies page: 

There is also a Waterside Forum run by Colchester Borough Council. This Forum is chaired by Mr Stephen Collis of Colchester Borough Council as they manage most of the beach and hard/waterfront area. This Forum is attended by West Mersea Town Council. 
Email: steve.collis@colchester.gov.uk 

COLCHESTER BOROUGH COUNCIL AND ESSEX COUNTY COUNCIL

Colchester Borough Ward Councillors
Cllr John Jowers
Tel: 01206 382975
Email: john.jowers@colchester.gov.uk

Cllr Patricia Moore
Tel: 01206 385361
Email: cllr.patricia.moore@colchester.gov.uk

Cllr Robert Davidson
Tel: 01206 735665
Email: robert.davidson@colchester.gov.uk 

You can find details here
Website: colchester.cmis.uk.com/colchester/Councillors.aspx

Essex County Councillor
Cllr John Jowers
Tel: 01206 382975 
Email: cllr.john.jowers@essex.gov.uk 

Member of Parliament
Sir Bernard Jenkin MP
House of Commons
London SW1 OAA
Tel: 0207 219 4029
Email: bernard.jenkin.mp@parliament.uk
Website: bernardjenkinmp.com

East Mersea Parish Council
East Mersea Parish Council serves a rural community of some 325 residents.
Tel: 01206 735367 (Parish Clerk)
Email: eastmerseaparish@yahoo.co.uk 
Website: eastmersea.org 

Colchester Borough Council
Main Switchboard - Tel: 01206 282222 - opening hours 9am to 5pm.
Emergency out of hours - Tel: 01206 548444
Website: colchester.gov.uk
 

Sign up to our e-newsletter

Contact Details

West Mersea Town Council
10 Melrose Road, West Mersea
Colchester, Essex, CO5 8JD

Email: info@westmersea.org
Telephone: 01206 382128

Office opening hours: Monday, Tuesday & Friday 9am to 12pm.

You can still contact us by telephone and email at other times.